After The Thrill

panorama-42-12-4-16-1

So, after all the miles walked, all the photos taken, and the agonies of selecting an exhibition’s-worth, “Watching The River Flow” opened this morning, 1 November. I blogged recently about how I felt after the dry run session a couple of days ago, before the frames made it to the walls. My feelings now it has opened are a different bundle of emotions: excitement, anticipation, anti-climax are all in there.

How’s that, you ask? Well, everything about this exhibition still excites me. The creation of it, the process of selecting the work, and of seeing it printed and framed to perfection by experts, etc have never failed to excite me. I’ve lived for the best part of a year in anticipation of this show, since I committed to holding it at the Below 65 gallery. That pre-opening day anticipation has now given way to that of awaiting the reaction of others to it. And anti-climax? Well, the town was so quiet today – one of the first working days since the kids went back to school after half term – and precisely nobody visited during the first morning. Plenty of time, though, and I don’t know what I really expected? A long queue of people trailing down the road from the gallery door? Get real, Tom. I’ve not got kids, but perhaps the feeling of walking round the completed exhibition was a little bit like the emotion of seeing your eldest start school?

The regular reader of this blog will know that music plays a huge part of my emotional life. I only know one song about exhibitions and that kind of performance (because that’s what it is – a performance- when you boil it down to its basics). That’s what the wonderful Dave Cousins described when he wrote “Hanging In The Gallery” for Strawbs back in the mid 1970s for the album “Nomadness“. The original track isn’t on YouTube, but even better than that is this live version  of the song, sung and played by Dave himself. I just love his “strawberries and cream” acoustic guitar, too.

I have a little playlist of music that will occasionally play gently in the background for visitors to the exhibition. This started life with me collecting “river-related” songs from my rather large musical archive at home. The tracks accompany Bob Dylan’s “Watching The River Flow”, which gave the show its title. It strayed a little from rivers etc, to the point that I couldn’t resist including “Hanging in the Gallery” in the mix.

So, there I was, half an hour after the show opened, sitting on my own in the gallery, having a first run-through of the music and wondering where everybody was. Oh boy, did “Hanging in the Gallery” hit me hard. I’ve taken the liberty of printing the words here, in case you didn’t or couldn’t go to YouTube.

Is it the painter or the picture hanging in the gallery?
Admired by countless thousands 
Who attempt to read the secrets of his vision of his very soul.
Is it the painter or the picture hanging in the gallery?
Or is it but a still life
Of his own interpretation
Of the way that God had made us in the image of His eye?

Is it the sculptor or the sculpture standing in the gallery?
Touched by fleeting strangers
Who desire to feel the strength of hands that realised a form of life.
Is it the sculptor or the sculpture standing in the gallery?
Or is it but the tenderness
With which his hands were guided
To discard the unessentials and reveal the perfect truth?

Is it the actor or the drama playing to the gallery?
Heard in every corner
Of the theatre of cruelty that masks the humour in his speech.
Is it the actor or the drama playing to the gallery?
Or is it but the character
Of any single member of the audience
That forms the plot of each and every play?

Is it the singer or his likeness hanging in the gallery?
Tongue black, still and swollen,
His eyes staring from their sockets, he is silent now, will sing no more.
Is it the singer or his likeness hanging in the gallery?
Or is it but his conscience,
Insecurity, and loneliness,
When destiny becomes at last the cause of his demise?

© Dave Cousins

Some might find the words a bit morbid, but to me they say everything about putting your reputation on the line. I’m not expecting to be: “Admired by countless thousands who attempt to read the secrets of his vision of his very soul” of course. The line of questioning is more likely to be along the lines of which camera I used, or what time of year some of the photos were taken. Nevertheless, for me, what has become the show has underpinned much of my life in the last few years, and the thoughts I’m having about it do indeed represent some of my own “conscience, insecurity and loneliness” as an artist.  I’ll bet there are many others who’ve done what I’m doing who would agree.

About tomsprints

I am a Masters athlete and freelance photographer living in Kent, in Great Britain. I'm a sprinter. As well as competing, my camera and I work regularly for the British Masters Athletics Federation and the European and World Masters Athletics organisations. For pleasure, I'm (principally) a landscape photographer. I have been blessed with the chance of spending quite a lot of time in the European Alps in the last 30 years. My web site is a vehicle for a my photographic work, and is at http://www.tomphillipsphotos.co.uk I run two blogs. One is about what it's like to be an older athlete ( http://tomsprints.wordpress.com ) and the other is basically about my photography ( https://ablogscape.wordpress.com ), although they occasionally overlap. I had a run-in with severe depression a few years ago, but seem to be coming out the other side now. However, I'm also having to come to terms with being diagnosed with the early stages of a degenerative sight condition. Not good for a photographer!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to After The Thrill

  1. Pingback: Cry Me A River | A Blog on a Landscape

Leave a Reply

